Pregnancy and Baby Resources

Congrats again on your pregnancy!

As you already know (and don’t poke fun of me, :-p), I obsessively aggregate information and distill the best, so it’s no surprise that’s what I’ve done with pregnancy and for after baby arrives.

My first suggestion (for anyone in Atlanta who is lucky enough to be able to) is to hire Teresa Howard as your Doula and take her childbirth class – see here: http://www.alaboroflove.org/

My second suggestion is to start visiting your local Le Leche group before your baby is born.  This was important to me, because I was the first in my family to breastfeed.  I wanted to meet the women, and see and hear how other women were finding success.  It’s hard in the beginning for many women, and it was the hardest thing for me, harder than my drug-free labor.

I think everything else kind of falls into place as you go, but if I didn’t have Teresa to coach me, my natural, drug-free, tear-free labor could have been not such a beautiful memory as it is now, and if I didn’t have Le Leche and Sharon Birdseye to help me breastfeed, I don’t think I’d be breast feeding now.

Hope the list below helps you and doesn’t overwhelm you.

Best to you,

Robyn
_____________________

For planners, you just need one (Well, you may not need a planner, but I actually use mine): Great Expectations: Pregnancy Journal & Planner, Revised Edition

Phone app’s, I regularly used both:
What to Expect Pregnancy
My Baby

Movies: “The Business of Being Born”

Books:

YouTube:
I also search youtube with anything I think of and see what comes up.  For example, I use terms like these: week 27 pregnant, breast feeding, natural birth, water birth, or anything I think of.  Other women write about how they feel, what they’re prepping or experiencing.  It’s interesting and has taught and entertained me.

A good pregnancy checklist: the bump

Midwife referrals:

 

Doula referrals:

 

***The Following Resources are For Once Your Baby Has Arrived***

Blogs/ Info Sites:

 

Groups:

 

Websites/ Online Shopping:

 

Books (many available in E-format):

 

Doctor Referrals:

 

Lactation Consultant Referral:

 

Baby Carriers:

  • Moby Wrap for winter season
  • Mei Tai for Summer
  • Babycurean for a back carry when baby is about 5-6 months or older

Cloth Diapers:

  • Flip
  • Grovia

Stroller

  • Citymini

Car Seat

  • Peg Perego 30/30 Viaggio

Diaper Bag

Leave a Reply

