How I’m feeling after Micah’s 2nd Birthday

We first found out we were expecting a baby in March 2011. I didn’t wait to make the announcement to everyone, I was too excited.

Having Micah has given me perspective.

Our life is overflowing with love. We are so blessed to have family and friends who love us so much. I am thankful my mom is here. I am thankful my Aunt Kathe and my sister Lisa wanted to come celebrate Micah’s birthday with us, and sing happy birthday to Micah 4 times while they were here. I am thankful my brother showed up to both of Micah’s parties. I am thankful I got to video chat with my sister Corey and niece Jordan so they could see Micah for his birthday. I am thankful there are people I could miss who couldn’t make it to Micah’s party. It was sad they couldn’t be there, but it means even more people love us. I am grateful Micah has a Great Grandma Jean and Great Grandpa Dave. I am grateful they could help come and celebrate along with his Grandpa Blake and D, and Great Aunt Jolie.

Thus, I am thankful for everyone who could help us celebrate Micah’s 2nd year of life, both near and far.

I am thankful that at night Micah can name all the people that love him. I hope he always feels this love. I’m thankful that when I ask Micah if he wants to see his friends he smiles and says ‘yea!’

I am thankful that he loves homeschool. It’s a lot of work.

I am thankful Micah does fine sleeping in his big boy bed.

I am thankful he responds to my gentle discipline. Really, I am thankful he wants to please us.

I am thankful Micah is so caring, outgoing, and curious about his world. I’m thankful he launches his whole body at me, trusting I will catch him. I am thankful he forgives me for my lackluster moments as a mommy. I’m learning and trying my best everyday.

I am thankful Micah’s daddy is exceptional, and that he’s also an exceptional husband whom I can fully respect.

I am thankful there is healthy food on the table and a roof over our heads. I am thankful for all the people who supported our new birthday ’cause’ called ‘No Kids Hungry’ because we are able to make a difference in other peoples lives by helping put meals on their table.

I am thankful we can pray with freedom. Thank you troops. I am thankful that Micah tells me he wants to read ‘God’ at night – that’s his bible. I am thankful that for the most part we remember to pray before meals. It keeps us in check to remind us the food is provided by God, not by our own hand.

I am grateful I know to be grateful.

I love my 2 year old and all he has taught me.

Leave a Reply

